You are not logged in.

#1 28 Jun 2006 18:47

cosmin10
Member
Registered: 28 Jun 2006
Posts: 1

Robocopy in Windows 2003 server

Hello,
I tried this basic robocopy script below on a Win2k3 Server to copy some files and it does not work, doesn't give an error either nor creates the MyLogfile.txt. Resource Kit is installed and the script works just fine in XP. Any suggestions, what am I doing wrong?
Thanks

@ECHO OFF
SETLOCAL

SET _source=\\FileServ1\e$\users

SET _dest=\\FileServ2\e$\BackupUsers

SET _what=/COPYALL /B /SEC /MIR
:: /COPYALL :: COPY ALL file info
:: /B :: copy files in Backup mode.
:: /SEC :: copy files with SECurity
:: /MIR :: MIRror a directory tree

SET _options=/R:0 /W:0 /LOG:MyLogfile.txt /NFL /NDL
:: /R:n :: number of Retries
:: /W:n :: Wait time between retries
:: /LOG :: Output log file
:: /NFL :: No file logging
:: /NDL :: No dir logging

ROBOCOPY %_source% %_dest% %_what% %_options%

Offline

#2 28 Jun 2006 19:13

Simon Sheppard
Admin
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 1,130
Website

Re: Robocopy in Windows 2003 server

I've found some versions of robocopy are picky about trailing backslashes

Also is the destination the local machine?
if not try running the script from the destination server with a local path

Offline

#3 28 Jun 2006 20:10

Simon Sheppard
Admin
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 1,130
Website

Re: Robocopy in Windows 2003 server

Thanks Simon,
I found the problem already. By default when you install Resource Kit it
does it under the Resource Kit folder rather then system32. I had to
move robocopy.exe under system32 folder and it works fine now.
Thanks
Cosmin

Offline

Board footer

Powered by