#1 09 Jul 2008 13:37

vml
Member
Registered: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

robocopy : cannot find specified patch in the log file

dear robocopy fans,


I am doing a backup of some file from a local har drive to an external hard drive. If I compare the two copy it matches. If I look into  the log file I have a couple of error 3 like these :

2008/07/09 14:26:02 ERROR 3 (0x00000003) Copying File D:\knowledge\papers\IMAC\2005\s36p01.pdf
The system cannot find the path specified.


2008/07/09 14:26:02 ERROR 3 (0x00000003) Copying File D:\knowledge\papers\IMAC\2005\s36p04.pdf
The system cannot find the path specified.


but the files are copied to the destination.

The options are :

SET _what=* /COPYALL /B /SEC /MIR
:: /COPYALL :: COPY ALL file info
:: /B :: copy files in Backup mode.
:: /SEC :: copy files with SECurity
:: /MIR :: MIRror a directory tree

SET _options= /E /V /R:0 /W:0  /LOG+:backup_log_%xdate%.txt /NFL /NDL
:: /R:n :: number of Retries
:: /W:n :: Wait time between retries
:: /LOG :: Output log file
:: /NFL :: No file logging
:: /NDL :: No dir logging



echo "copying index folder"
ROBOCOPY %_source% %_dest% %_what% %_options%





Any explanations ?
Any suggestions ?


thank you for your help.


regards,



Victor


PS : the system is running windows xp pro

Offline

#2 09 Jul 2008 19:39

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 1,115
Website

Re: robocopy : cannot find specified patch in the log file

Did it copy the security info correctly?
You are running a mirror, so was the file already there beforehand?

Saying that I've often seen the same thing, an error in the log but nothing apparently wrong.

Offline

#3 09 Jul 2008 21:03

vml
Member
Registered: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

Re: robocopy : cannot find specified patch in the log file

Thank you Simon !

I will verify tomorrow the file security. The files were in the source and it was a first try (basically it copied everything from the source directory).


Is ROBOCOPY reliable to backup sensitive data ?
Is there an official support for the windows reskit ?


regards,


Victor

Offline

#4 09 Jul 2008 22:28

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 1,115
Website

Re: robocopy : cannot find specified patch in the log file

vml wrote:

Is ROBOCOPY reliable to backup sensitive data ?

In my experience yes, it has proven just as reliable as some of those expensive proprietary backup systems.

vml wrote:

Is there an official support for the windows reskit ?

This depends which OS you are running, the resource kit is not supported, but RoboCopy is built into Vista so should be fully supported there.

Whatever support you have, I would not trust *any* backup solution without testing it regularly.

Offline

#5 09 Jul 2008 22:39

vml
Member
Registered: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

Re: robocopy : cannot find specified patch in the log file

ok I understand, I am a newbie with windows, I am more experinced with the rsync solution of linux or rdiff-backup. Never experienced these kind of things in the log file. I find it very strange ...

thank you for your help

Offline

#6 19 Jul 2008 12:11

bluesxman
Member
From: UK
Registered: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 1,126

Re: robocopy : cannot find specified patch in the log file

Might be totally unrelated, but I recently had a problem where I would robocopy a file to a USB hard disc, the copy would spit out an error with the text "The system cannot find the path specified", though the file appeared to be at the destination.

It turns out I had some corruption on the disc.  After multiple passes through chkdsk Windows had managed to sort out the dodgy areas and I was able to copy files again without complaint.

But as I said, this could be completely unrelated to your problem.


cmd | *sh | ruby | chef

Offline

#7 24 Jul 2008 17:30

vml
Member
Registered: 09 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

Re: robocopy : cannot find specified patch in the log file

did you do a chkdsk on the external hard drive or on the hard drive you were trying to backup ?


I will try to do a chkdsk on the external drive


My external har drive is in FAT 32 can it be the source of all my problems  ?

Last edited by vml (24 Jul 2008 17:34)

Offline

#8 25 Jul 2008 09:27

bluesxman
Member
From: UK
Registered: 29 Dec 2006
Posts: 1,126

Re: robocopy : cannot find specified patch in the log file

In my case, the error was with the target device -- the external drive.

Remember to use the "/R" and "/F" switches on the chkdsk command (might need "/X" too), to do a more thorough check/fix.

NB: A full check such as this might take a long time.

Can't see FAT32 itself being the cause of your problem.

Last edited by bluesxman (25 Jul 2008 09:54)


cmd | *sh | ruby | chef

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB