#31 18 Nov 2013 20:32

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

npocmaka wrote:

1. The AT page's mysteriously disappeared from the reference list smile (btw. is it possible to edit a task created with AT with SCHTASKS ? i thought the changing credentials of AtServivce will help, but it does not)

I had a feeling the AT command was going away and sure enough in Windows 8 it is gone:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4051 … 0#19492700

Offline

#32 19 Nov 2013 09:24

npocmaka
Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 421

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

According to this it's available but deprecated:

http://blogs.technet.com/b/supportingwi … -2012.aspx

Offline

#33 20 Nov 2013 10:01

npocmaka
Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 421

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

BTW. none  of the following commands are  available on my Win7/Vista (both x64) machines :

NTBACKUP CLUSTER FREEDISK DNSSTAT USRSTAT   (probably are 32b .com files?)

and

COMPACT and COMPRESS are not interchangeable  of each other.
COMPACT just sets "compress" attribute to a file/files (didn't notice reduce in the size may it's some ancient tool for fat32 files? The attribute can be removed with compact /u) while COMPRESS is rather the MAKECAB little brother.

Also EXPAND and EXTRACT (EXTRAC32 in recent windows editions - expand help can be seen here -> http://researchbin.blogspot.com/2012/05 … ox5pcQ0VBk )

I'm planning a more detailed post about CAB tools (MAKECAB , COMPRESS , EXPAND , EXTRACT/EXTRAC32 ) , but I'll do it when I have more time...

Last edited by npocmaka (09 Dec 2013 10:33)

Offline

#34 30 Nov 2013 07:09

carlos
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

@Simon: I found that START command check the COMSPEC variable without or with extensions enabled when you run a batch script or a internal command. This is different from the current documentation in the page.

Offline

#35 30 Nov 2013 16:23

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

Thanks Carlos, I've updated the START page now http://ss64.com/nt/start.html

Offline

#36 30 Nov 2013 20:14

carlos
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

@Simon: thanks. Also /W is accepted as a valid abbreviation of /Wait.

Offline

#37 30 Nov 2013 22:13

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

good point, I've added that now - thanks again

Offline

#38 09 Dec 2013 07:20

Aacini
Member
Registered: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 119

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

Excuse me. I just want to state a comment about this forum.

The help pages on Windows-DOS commands are not easily reachable. The first time I realized about they was in this topic. After that, I tried to find a link to the commands help page in the forum and I can't find it. The only way to go to that page from the forum was typing "ss64.com/nt/" (?) in the address bar. I think it should be a link to the commands help page in the forum... Perhaps I missed the link???

Antonio

Offline

#39 09 Dec 2013 12:01

foxidrive
Member
Registered: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 339

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

Antonio, on the home page http://ss64.com/ there is a link to CMD on the top right of the link array.  Is that what you were after?

Offline

#40 09 Dec 2013 12:07

npocmaka
Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 421

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

foxidrive wrote:

Antonio, on the home page http://ss64.com/ there is a link to CMD on the top right of the link array.  Is that what you were after?

I think he wants a direct link to  http://ss64.com/nt/ from the sub-forum like the the link to the SS64 home on the top.

Offline

#41 09 Dec 2013 20:39

Aacini
Member
Registered: 05 Dec 2012
Posts: 119

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

I entered at this forum the first time via a link in DosTips.com. Sometimes I read a topic that mention the "commands help page", but don't include a link, so I go to the home page OF THIS FORUM (.org extension) and can't find the help page. How could I know that I must change the extension to .com? I think that should be a link to ss64.com/ in ss64.org/ or, better yet, a link to the corresponding help page in each sub-forum...

Antonio

Offline

#42 10 Dec 2013 23:39

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

Aacini wrote:

I entered at this forum the first time via a link in DosTips.com. Sometimes I read a topic that mention the "commands help page", but don't include a link, so I go to the home page OF THIS FORUM (.org extension) and can't find the help page. How could I know that I must change the extension to .com? I think that should be a link to ss64.com/ in ss64.org/ or, better yet, a link to the corresponding help page in each sub-forum...

Yes, its a good point although there is one link at the top left it isn't always obvious that the URL is different.
There is a major upgrade of the forum software in the pipeline, probably a year or so away, which will include a change to descriptive URLs, so at the point when that is installed I will probably redirect the forum to ss64.com/forum/

Offline

#43 11 Dec 2013 03:39

foxidrive
Member
Registered: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 339

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

Simon, does the forum software support a sticky post that stays at the top of the new posts?  If so then one could be added until then with a link to the main page, or the CMD help, specifically.

Offline

#44 11 Dec 2013 20:31

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

^ good idea, I've just added one in each sub-forum.

Offline

#45 12 Dec 2013 07:07

foxidrive
Member
Registered: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 339

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

They will work well.  Good one.

Offline

#46 12 Dec 2013 12:45

carlos
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

In AT command, maybe a note can be added, that this command have a security potentially thing almost in Windows xp(knew by many people): it run the commands as SYSTEM user. I not know if with SCHTASKS the same happen.

Offline

#47 13 Dec 2013 19:46

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

^ done, thanks

Offline

#48 23 Dec 2013 00:27

carlos
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

@Simon: There are not pages for commands: Telnet.exe and Tlntadmn.exe

Offline

#49 24 Dec 2013 21:17

omniplex
New Member
Registered: 24 Dec 2013
Posts: 1

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

Hi, your page nt/where.html says "2003".  You can get a vintage 2000 NT version from the ftp.microsoft com FTPserver in the reskit/y2kfix/x86/ folder for the NT resource kit. It has an option "e" for the EXE-type, otherwise it's the same thing. 

In the same FTP folder you can find an older forfiles.exe for your nt/forfiles.html page.  I've added NT logtime.exe, forfiles.exe, and where.exe to my Windows 2000 tools. wink

Offline

#50 13 Jan 2014 21:28

npocmaka
Member
From: Bulgaria
Registered: 03 Dec 2009
Posts: 421

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

My regular big batch with suggestions smile

MakeCab , Extrac32 , Expand and Compress in some of the another topics.

COMPACT as the summary could leads to wrong conclusions..

Displays or alters the compression attribute of files on NTFS partitions.

COMPACT [/C | /U] [/S[:dir]] [/A] [ /I] [/F] [/Q] [filename [...]]

  /C        Compresses the specified files.  Directories will be marked
            so that files added afterward will be compressed.
  /U        Uncompresses the specified files.  Directories will be marked
            so that files added afterward will not be compressed.
  /S        Performs the specified operation on files in the given
            directory and all subdirectories.  Default "dir" is the
            current directory.
  /A        Displays files with the hidden or system attributes.  These
            files are omitted by default.
  /I        Continues performing the specified operation even after errors
            have occurred.  By default, COMPACT stops when an error is
            encountered.
  /F        Forces the compress operation on all specified files, even
            those which are already compressed.  Already-compressed files
            are skipped by default.
  /Q        Reports only the most essential information.
  filename  Specifies a pattern, file, or directory.

  Used without parameters, COMPACT displays the compression state of
  the current directory and any files it contains. You may use multiple
  filenames and wildcards.  You must put spaces between multiple
  parameters.

"The truth includes all, and is compact just as much as space is compact" Leaves of Grass ,  Walt Whitman.

Related :
Attrib

http://ss64.com/nt/type.html  - ~If more than one file is specified the filenames are included in the output.If a wildcard is used the filenames are not displayed.~
this is not true according to my tests  every time when wild card is passed it displays the file names when the wild card is passed .I would mention also that the file names are printed in the error stream and can be truncated with    type * 2>nul

http://ss64.com/nt/start.html - to the "related" I would add  wmic process call create "c:\some.exe","c:\exec_dir"   as it returns the PID of the started process.Something that use often ...

http://ss64.com/nt/netsh.html - may be it will be good nvspbind  (http://archive.msdn.microsoft.com/nvspbind) to be added - as it is the only command line tool that I know that can  modify network bindings.
EDIT:
http://ss64.com/nt/for_l.html  - like the plain for (start,step,end) can separated by any standard delimiter. Here's a more detailed article of cmd parses the numbers  - http://www.dostips.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=3758

Last edited by npocmaka (17 Jan 2014 08:56)

Offline

#51 23 Jan 2014 20:47

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

carlos wrote:

@Simon: There are not pages for commands: Telnet.exe and Tlntadmn.exe

I've now added a telnet page which includes a brief mention of Tlntadmn and some telnet commands
http://ss64.com/nt/telnet.html

Offline

#52 23 Jan 2014 20:51

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

npocmaka, been rather busy lately but I'll try and update some of your suggestions over the next few days.

Offline

#53 24 Jan 2014 03:16

foxidrive
Member
Registered: 04 Apr 2013
Posts: 339

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

Simon Sheppard wrote:

I've now added a telnet page which includes a brief mention of Tlntadmn and some telnet commands
http://ss64.com/nt/telnet.html

It might also be useful to add a mention to a scriptable free telnet tool for Windows that can be found via google:

Telnet Scripting Tool v.1.0 by Albert Yale

Last edited by foxidrive (24 Jan 2014 03:16)

Offline

#54 11 Feb 2014 06:52

carlos
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

@Simon:
doskey page not have info for /m /m: and /h abbreviations of /macros /macros: and /history respectively.

Offline

#55 12 Feb 2014 00:59

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

npocmaka wrote:

My regular big batch with suggestions smile

http://ss64.com/nt/type.html  - ~If more than one file is specified the filenames are included in the output.If a wildcard is used the filenames are not displayed.~
this is not true according to my tests  every time when wild card is passed it displays the file names when the wild card is passed .I would mention also that the file names are printed in the error stream and can be truncated with    type * 2>nul

http://ss64.com/nt/start.html - to the "related" I would add  wmic process call create "c:\some.exe","c:\exec_dir"   as it returns the PID of the started process.Something that use often ...

^ those are all updated now, (will look into the other some more)

Offline

#56 12 Feb 2014 01:06

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

carlos wrote:

@Simon:
doskey page not have info for /m /m: and /h abbreviations of /macros /macros: and /history respectively.

I think those abbreviations are only documented for the old DOS versions of DOSKEY they do work though, so I've added a note at the bottom of the page. - Thanks

Offline

#57 12 Feb 2014 01:07

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

foxidrive wrote:

It might also be useful to add a mention to a scriptable free telnet tool for Windows that can be found via google: Telnet Scripting Tool v.1.0 by Albert Yale

Done, thanks

Offline

#58 12 Feb 2014 02:00

carlos
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

Simon Sheppard wrote:
carlos wrote:

@Simon:
doskey page not have info for /m /m: and /h abbreviations of /macros /macros: and /history respectively.

I think those abbreviations are only documented for the old DOS versions of DOSKEY they do work though, so I've added a note at the bottom of the page. - Thanks

Simon it are documented here: https://www.microsoft.com/resources/doc … x?mfr=true

Offline

#59 12 Feb 2014 10:06

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 889
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

carlos wrote:

Ah I missed that reference, have moved up into the syntax section now

Thanks Carlos

Offline

#60 15 Feb 2014 05:09

carlos
Member
From: Chile
Registered: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 245
Website

Re: Pages in ss64.com/nt/ that need update

@Simon.
A comment about doskey page that says:

DOSKEY FORMAT=;Ive disabled the Format command

if exist a ive.cmd it would be execute.
it maybe should be:

DOSKEY FORMAT=REM Ive disabled the Format command

Edit: Also. it not disable completally the format command. Still we remain valid:

FORMAT.COM

for it maybe this would be need:

DOSKEY FORMAT=REM Ive disabled the Format command
DOSKEY FORMAT.COM=REM Ive disabled the Format command
DOSKEY FORMAT.EXE=REM Ive disabled the Format command

But with it, this can be possible:

%Windir%\System32\format.com

Even with this:

DOSKEY FORMAT.COM=REM Ive disabled the Format command

I can do this:

set e=format.com
%e%

Doskey is not reliable for disable commands (internal or external).

Last edited by carlos (15 Feb 2014 08:01)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB