#1 24 Jun 2010 10:20

Leo Hartmann
Member
Registered: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

remove commands

How can I remove commands in the terminal. I have Mac OS 10.4.8 and installed following shell:bash commands to activate Postfix. I am completely new about it.
sudo postfix start

cd /System/Library
sudo mkdir StartupItems
cd StartupItems
sudo mv ~/Desktop/Postfix .
sudo chown -R 0:0 Postfix
sudo chmod +rx Postfix/Postfix
sudo pico /etc/hostconfig

Find the line MAILSERVER=... and change it to MAILSERVER=-YES-.

hopeful to get an answer, Leo

Offline

#2 26 Jun 2010 15:45

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 1,011
Website

Re: remove commands

Leo Hartmann wrote:

How can I remove commands in the terminal.

I'm not sure I understand the question, are you just trying to clear the screen?

if so just type 'clear'

Offline

#3 26 Jun 2010 17:24

Leo Hartmann
Member
Registered: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

Re: remove commands

Hallo,
I want back to the virgin state of my system. Just as if I wouldn't have written any command. I think this commands influenzed my system10.4.8.
Its already one week back and its the first time I used the terminal. I discovered that I don't need to use Postfix in order to test PHP-scripts with MAMP 4.1.1
I hope, I expressed now more clear, greeting from Leo

Offline

#4 26 Jun 2010 18:57

Simon Sheppard
Super Administrator
Registered: 27 Aug 2005
Posts: 1,011
Website

Re: remove commands

By default the /System/Library/StartupItems folder is empty

you can do this without the terminal, from finder choose Go, Go to Folder... from the menu
then enter
/System/Library/StartupItems
from there you can just drag the files into the trash

The only other change would be to edit the /etc/hostconfig file with pico again and reverse whatever changes you made to it.
(or just restore a backup)

Offline

#5 27 Jun 2010 04:05

Leo Hartmann
Member
Registered: 22 Jun 2010
Posts: 4

Re: remove commands

Thank You for Your information and the time You took to write.
Yesterday I used the disk repair utility from my installation disk and I think the problem got solved.
Your advice might be a good tip for the next time or for somebody who has similiar problems. Greetings from Leo!!!!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB