Newbie scripter - drag and drop an image file onto a batch file

Microsoft Windows
MigrationUser

Newbie scripter - drag and drop an image file onto a batch file

Post by MigrationUser »

03 Apr 2008 13:53
DG55

I'm completely new to scripting for Windows, so bare with me!

I want to do what seems to be a relatively easy batch file. Here's what it needs to do...

- Need to be able to drag and drop an image (png) file onto the batch file.
- Image file to be copied in the same directory appending '_new' to the end of the file before the extension.
- Newly created file to have an external exe script run on it (this exe file will be located in the same directory or package as the batch file).

Any ideas how to do this? I've given this a go but having problems with copying the file and adding the text before the extension. Being able to drag and drop images from any directory on the computer seems to add another level of complexity.

Cheers.

Last edited by DG55 (03 Apr 2008 13:53)

----------------------------

#2 03 Apr 2008 18:31
bluesxman

This should do the trick:
* * UNTESTED * *

Code: Select all

@echo off

set exe=%~dp0\YourScriptGoesHere.exe

for %%a in (%*) do (
    if /i "%%~xa" EQU ".png" (
        copy /y "%%~a" "%%~dpna_NEW%%~xa"
        "%exe%" "%%~dpna_NEW%%~xa"
    )
)

pause
cmd | *sh | ruby | chef

#3 04 Apr 2008 00:43
DG55

smile Great, this is fantastic. Thanks for the help.

Does it start getting more complicated if I want to be able to drag multiple files onto the batch file?

#4 04 Apr 2008 12:14
bluesxman

Nope, I wrote it so it can handle as many as you'd care to drop. Please note, however, that there is an upper limit in the amount of data that Windows will pass to a script via dropping. If you start getting a weird error dialogue from Windows (I forget what it says exactly) then you probably dropped too many files. Doing so shouldn't hurt anything, it just won't run, so try dropping less files.