You are not logged in.

#1 15 Oct 2014 12:56

jamiefinney

Newbie Question

I have very little experience coding so i was hoping someone could give me a hand with part of a script i'm writing. just found this and adapted it from another post i saw online.

i have a folder of files that i want to add a prefix of "rdcomp_" to 

FOR /r "FOLDER_NAME" %%a in (*) DO REN "%%~a" "rdcomp_%%~nxa"

this script works really well if i have less than 10 files for example (all the files get renamed then the script closes)
rdcomp_FILE_1
rdcomp_FILE_2
rdcomp_FILE_3...

however where it falls over is when i use the same script on a folder with >1000 files and the script seems to get stuck in a loop and keeps running over and over again until i manually close it. so i end up with something like

rdcomp_rdcomp_rdcomp_rdcomp_FILE_1

any ideas on what i could do to fix this? seems odd that the same script should work so differently for a few files and many.

thanks in advance smile

#2 15 Oct 2014 13:00

jamiefinney

Re: Newbie Question

this is run using windows and saved as a .bat

#3 15 Oct 2014 17:02

DigitalSnow

This behavior is due to a race condition in how the for command reads a directory of files.  The for command parses a directory of files one by one and if a file is modified during that process (renamed) the loop will process that "new" file again. Use the for /f and dir commands to counteract this behavior.  The dir command generates a static list of files and then the for loop processes that list.

for /f "delims=" %%A in ('dir /a-d /b /s "FOLDER_NAME\*"') do ren "%%~A" "rdcomp_%%~nxA"

Edit: Added closing single quotation mark '

Last edited by DigitalSnow (15 Oct 2014 17:13)

#4 15 Oct 2014 17:10

jamiefinney

thanks for your reply i suspected it might be something like that.

i've tried your suggestion and it doesn't work the cmd window closes immediately so there must be some kind of error any idea?