You are not logged in.

#1 15 Jun 2014 07:20

krishnadixit

Findstr:Batch to find String (all lines) between two fixed characters

Hi Gurus,

I am totally new to DOS. Infact I am a Java guy. I need to do some string search operations but unfortunately string search & file search operation in java is considerably slow. And its very fast in OS.

So here is my problem. I need to find some files with fixed extension (.sp) for strings (lines) between 2 fixed characters. They are ';' & ';'
Here is the content of one of .sp file.

File:- Tons.sp

line 1: Skipcheck;
line 2: [Scenario:'Actual']=STET;
line 3: ['WFS':'Actual','Scenario':'Actual','Measure':'Units']=N:
line 4: IF( SUBST( !Measure, 1, 1) @= '8'
line 5: ,
line 6:     ['Amount']
line 7: ,
line 8:    STET
line 9: );
line10: 
line11: ['Tons'] = N:
line12: DB('Volume Master',!Version,!Year,!Plant,'GL_CODE_0004',!Period,!Measure) ;
line13: 
line14: ['Group1_Volume'] = N:
line15: IF ( ELISANC( 'Plant', 'Group1' , !Plant )=1 
line16:     , ['Take_This']
line17:    , CONTINUE
line18: );
line19: 
line20: ['Tons Trend']=N:
line21: IF( DB('Monthly_Trend', !Period, 'Tons_Trend_Factor') > 0
line22: , 'Current_Tons' * DB('Volume Master',!Version,!Year,!Plant,'GL_CODE_TonsProduced',!Period,!Measure) 
line23: , CONTINUE
line24: );

Please Note: line numbers are just for indication.

Problem 1: Now I need to find the string (all lines) that lie between ';' & ';' that contains string "DB('Volume Master'"
ie.: The findstring will be something like this:-
FINDSTR /n "=*DB('Volume Master'*;" *.sp

The result of above command should be line 11 to 12  & line 20 to 24

line12: DB('Volume Master',!Version,!Year,!Plant,'GL_CODE_0004',!Period,!Measure) ;

&

line22: , 'Current_Tons' * DB('Volume Master',!Version,!Year,!Plant,'GL_CODE_TonsProduced',!Period,!Measure) 

Problem 2: The output of this:-
FINDSTR /n "=*DB('Volume Master'*'GL_CODE_TonsProduced'*;" *.sp

would be:-

Please help. Thanks
Krishna

#2 15 Jun 2014 09:49

foxidrive